Press freedom

CPJ announces 2020 International Press Freedom awardees

Clockwise from top left: Svetlana Prokopyeva (Artiom Avanesov); Dapo Olorunyomi (Dapo Olorunyomi); Shahidul Alam (Shahidul Alam); Mohammad Mosaed (Farid Kamran Nia)

New York, July 13, 2020–The Committee to Protect Journalists will honor four courageous journalists from Bangladesh, Iran, Nigeria, and Russia with the 2020 International Press Freedom Awards. All four have been arrested or faced criminal prosecution in reprisal for their reporting. CPJ will also honor lawyer Amal Clooney with the Gwen Ifill Award. 

Journalist security

Corona-webinar for Afghan journalists

screenshot of Abeer Saady on zoom.
Abeer Saady, international safety trainer for JMIC 

Journalism & Media International Center (JMIC) conducted a webinar on Ethics and Safety when Covering the Corona Pandemic on zoom 17June, with experienced trainer Abeer Saady.